Southern Fried Diary

Date Night Chicken Pasta Salad
2001-07-18 @ 10:16 a.m.

Yesterday evening we had dates (Badsnake with Sara and me with Jake). Usually when we have dates on Tuesday nights everyone is on their own for supper, but this time I decided to take care of fixing something to eat for everyone. It needed to be something light and fast (fast to cook and fast to eat since we're always anxious to get down to business). So I made a chicken pasta salad. It's a great, simple summertime meal.

When I make up a recipe like this, it isn't easy to pass on because I rarely measure while I'm putting it together. But I've done my best to estimate measurements. I encourage you to modify it to your taste if you want to use it.

2 10 oz cans chicken

1 1/2 to 2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni or similar size pasta

2 stalks celery chopped

1 to 2 tbsp capers

2 oz can black olives

15 1/2 oz can chick peas (garbanzo beans)

1 to 2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

about 2 tsp capers juice

dash or two red pepper (cayenne)

This makes a butt load (big bowl) of salad but we ate most of it. Cook the pasta and rinse it to cool it. Drain the canned chicken, black olives and chick peas. Stir everything together in a big bowl except the mustard, caper juice and red pepper. I mixed those together separately so that the pepper would be evenly blended in the salad and added the mustard mixture last. It can be made early and refrigerated. For vegetarians or as a side dish, this would probably be quite good without the chicken. I may try it that way sometime.

We dished up the bowls and ate in the living room as we were each ready (instead of the sit down at the table and socialize meal we usually have when I cook). Ricky from across the street dropped in while we were eating to see if Badsnake could watch the Jack Russells part of the weekend. We keep wondering when Ricky and Lucy will catch us paired off with our girlfriends or somehow figure out what's going on. I don't think they would bat an eye, but we aren't willing to chance it just yet. Last night could have been interesting if he had shown up after the dates had started. Ricky thinks to himself: "all cars home and no one answering their doors. What's going on here?"

Jake and I shared a bottle of Cotes Du Rhone (one of my favorite red wines for a yummy good value) after we split off to dates. It proved to be the perfect wine to sip while watching Jake's ass bob up and down the step stool as she was prying molding off the wall. (But I ask myself, is there a wine that wouldn't be perfect under the circumstances?) Jake and Badsnake are both careful, meticulous workers. It is a joy to watch them do things like that. Jake has had that molding on her mind for a while now, and she's running out of time to get the room prepped for painting. When she is distracted by something like that, it's best to go with it and just enjoy watching her ass. I suggested we do the molding (well, there wasn't really much for me to do but sit in the floor, sip wine and keep her company) and then take a shower together. It was a fun shower.

Afterward we watched the Home and Garden channel and Food Network while snuggling on the sofa. If we had watched those first it could have been foreplay for us. Those two channels are the only reason I'm looking forward to getting Direct TV (those and hopefully Outdoor Life Network).

Jake and I are different from Badsnake and Sara in that sometimes we'd rather spend our dates doing something besides having sex. We've had a long stretch of pretty regular, pretty amazing sex over the last couple of months. Last night was a different kind of fun.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood